Disco Elysium

Disco Elysium is a very good game, simply put.
It is an escapade into the types of emotions and tensions that a text-based rpg can offer.
The soundtrack is very “indie” and matches well with the late-soviet era aesthetic.
The checks are some of the most stressful things I have ever felt in media, especially impressive since they’re classic-type barriers.
Simple, but extremely functional.
At its core the narrative is a mystery, but as you go on and on your merry way, every single group dichotomy collapses.
Good and bad flip-flop so often, and it makes sense when it does.
The politics was crass, but funny because of its satirical tone.
The Pale and the Silence were excellent bits of lore, metaphors for the ceaseless past, into the past, and Harry’s own amnesia, a break point.
I’ve heard some others say that the ending was rushed, or bloated, or disappointing.
I would not disagree, however for my incredibly long last play session, it was very satisfying.
Perhaps that was the intention, to engage you so much that the last dialogues would be towards a worn out player.
It certainly was for me.
And that weariness made the looks back feel all the more sweeter.
Just my take though.

It was an excellent game that swallowed my attention like the present into the past.
I hope that many more like it come in the future.

9.8/10

A solid, engrossing narrative, kept tension through traditional RPG mechanics.
One of the best in its field.

Leave a comment